#MyWeddingPlanningJourney – Part 6 – My introduction

Yay! We’re almost there! I’m so happy. Like! I can’t tell you how happy i am. It’s officially just a few more weeks to the wedding and i’m soooo happy. LOL, not because i’m looking forward to being a “princess” like 80% of all right thinking females. It’s just because all this stress will soon be over. I’m GLAD.
Well, it was my introduction this past Saturday (August 2nd). Whoop! As most of you know, this is the day where the intended groom’s family come to officially state their purpose. I’m Yoruba, but raised igbo so this “occassion is called “Iku aka ekpe” literally meaning “first knocking” like knocking on a door. It signifies the first visit to a potential bride’s by her suitor and his family to lay down their intentions. This is usually done months before the wedding and even before any planning begins but my wedding is sort of “shotgun-y”…and NO, i’m not pregnant. You would not believe how many times i’ve had to answer that question. Ugh!
Back to the matter! So my boo and his family came in around noon-ish and started whatever it is they were doing, LOL. I don’t know because i was locked up in the bedroom and like and hour later, they called me out and asked me if i knew the handsome young man because he’d just asked for my hand in marriage and i was all like “oooooh yeah, i know him, that’s my booooooooooo, he’s so fiiiiineeee”. LOL, not really. I said a very shy “Yes” and that was my acceptance. So we went on to eat and drink and be jolly. All in all, it was a good day. 3 more weeks till i change my name!!! CAN.NOT.WAIT

Leave a Reply

