#MyWeddingPlanningJourney – Part 3 – All the things i have to do

If you read my last post, you’ll know i was losing my mind. Fast forward a week, finally got a call from my venue that the date i wanted was now available. YAY!!! The other group didn’t pay so it was a GO! This news made me so so happy. That’s one less thing to worry about.

So here are all the things i have left to do…

  • Alterations for my wedding dress + buying a veil and bridal belt
    At this point, let me mention that i don’t like the shoes i bought anymore. I bought a pair of silver sandals, low heeled, enough to be able to stand and dance in all day but i just don’t like them anymore. Now i need to find new shoes.
  • Date for the introduction ceremony
    For this event, which is the official introduction of both families, we plan to have only immediate family around so i’m thinking 20 people max.
  • My family’s list for the introduction ceremony
    Here, the bride’s family prepares a list of things for the groom’s family to bring as bride price. The list would usually consist of things like tubers of yam, clothes, jewellry, et cetera. When the list is ready, i promise to post it here. It is at the introduction ceremony that this list is presented to the groom’s family.
  • Catering for the introduction ceremony
  • Venue for the traditional wedding
  • Catering for the traditional wedding
  • Decor for the traditional wedding venue
  • Clothes for the traditional wedding
    I’m having some trouble here. Let me explain. My mother was Delta Igbo, she raised me and my father, whom i recently met and got acquainted with is Yoruba. He’ll be at my wedding but not in the usual “fatherly” capacity. So the dilemma is whether to dress as a Delta Igbo bride (George wrapper, blouse made from lace material and/or coral beads with a headtie) or a Yoruba bride (Iro and buba, made of aso oke and/or lace). I’ll decide soon but i’m leaning towards the Delta Igbo side.
  • Wedding day transportation
  • Make up artist
    I’ve narrowed my options here to 2 MUAs, should make a decision in the next few days.
  • Photography
    I’ve also narrowed options here to 2 photogs and will make a decision in the next few days

All these decisions that need to be made will be made bearing in mind that the cermonies will be small and intimate and we will cut costs as much as possible. Yes, we have our work cut out for us. The next few months will be a rollercoaster, i know. I’m just going to try my best to enjoy it as much as i can. The light at the end of the tunnel is that at the end of this rigorous journey, i’ll be married to my sweetheart forever and we’re going to spend a beautiful happy life together. We’re going to have healthy, beautiful children who we’ll raise with oh so much love, watch them grow and watch them get married and raise their own children. Pure heaven. So yes. I can deal with a little wedding planning, the rewards are plenty.

2 thoughts on “#MyWeddingPlanningJourney – Part 3 – All the things i have to do

Leave a Reply

